History of Our School

The Sisters of Mercy came to Arklow from Rathdrum in 1881 and began an apostolate in education. In 1903 the Sisters opened a boarding school to facilitate students who lived great distances from the school. In the mid 1950s the boarding school was extended and a new building, Maris Stella, was erected to provide day education for the local population.

Assessing the trends of development in economic and population growth the Sisters perceived the way forward for Arklow was to facilitate the provision of increased day education and accordingly phased out the boarding school in the 1970s.

Cluain Mhuire building was opened in 1985. The trusteeship of the College changed from the Sisters of Mercy to CEIST (Catholic Education Irish School Trust) in 2006.

Principal's Message

Dear Parents and Students,
It is with great pleasure that I welcome you all to the website of St. Mary’s College, Arklow. I hope you will visit often to keep informed of all our activities and events. For updated news please see also our Facebook page and School App. I hope you enjoy your visit to our website. Should you wish to contact us, please click on the ‘contact us’ link above.

Mr. Aidan Ward


Any correspondance for the board of management should be made to The Secretary, Board of Management, St. Mary’s College, Arklow, Co. Wicklow.

 Board of Management



 Chairperson Ms. Elaine Foxton – Trustee Nominee
 Secretary Mr. Aidan Ward – Principal
 Members Mr. John O’Toole – Trustee Nominee
Mr. John Byrne – Trustee Nominee
Mr. Jonothan O’Toole – Trustee Nominee
Ms. Paula McLoughlin – Parent’s Nominee
Ms. Anne Brady – Parent’s Nominee
Ms. Breda Dundar – Teacher Nominee
Ms. Dee Ryan – Teacher Nominee

Contact Details

The office hours are between 9am and 4pm weekdays and closed for lunch between 12.15 pm and 1.15 pm.

Principal: Mr. Aidan Ward
Deputy: Mrs. Brenda Byrne

: 0402 32419
F: 0402 32419
E: info@stmarysarklow.ie

St. Mary’s College
St. Mary’s Road,
Co. Wicklow.
Y14 FA38